Wednesday, September 11, 2013

{ book review: tempting bella by diana quincy }

Title: Tempting Bella
Author: Diana Quincy
Series: Accidental Peers
Genre: Historical Romance
Length: 241 pages
Release Date: September 9, 2013

Mirabella can hardly remember the man she married as a girl. And it’s just as well. She feels nothing but contempt for the man who wed her for her fortune and promptly forgot she existed. The ton may call him “The Saint” but Bella knows better.

Forced to marry as a teen to rescue his family from certain ruin, Sebastian has been apart from his child bride since their wedding day. When he encounters an enchanting impish beauty at the opera, he’s is thrilled to find she is none other than his long-ago bride and he is more than ready to make her his wife in truth.

Too bad the beguiling beauty has no intention of coming meekly to the marriage bed.




Buy it here




Thoughts On "Tempting Bella"



What I Liked

Bella may have been headstrong and somewhat independent but I liked that her age and naivety still showed at times.  She was used to being on her own and took steps to make sure that she was not walking into a world she knew nothing about but at the same time she still had moments where she acted out in rebellion.  Her attempts to dig at Sebastian through her wardrobe were very reminiscent of teenagers today; somethings never change.  I also liked her loyalty to her friends.  Bella didn't have to know everything about them, just that they were kind. Of course that came back to bite her a little but it was nice to see she valued how they were rather than who they were.


What I Loved

Typically in historical romances it's the hero that has to win me over, but I loved Sebastian from the very beginning.  Sebastian made a few missteps when he and Bella came together again but I felt all of his decisions were with her best interests in heart even from the beginning of their marriage.  He tried to be as honest with her as he could even when he had to explain as to why he was ducking out in the middle of the night.   


What I Didn't Like

I'm not too fond of the miscommunication or even assuming as a way to keep a couple apart but I know it can be done right, sometimes.  Bella thought Sebastian let her go abroad so she would be out of his hair but he wanted her to have the freedom he felt she was denied because she was forced to marry so young.  Things that were one step forward two steps back at times in a way. 


Diana Quincy does a wonderful job at bringing the ton to life.  The Accidental Peers Series is full of engaging characters overall and I'm looking forward to the rest of the series. 


About The Author

Diana Quincy is an award-winning former television journalist who decided she'd rather make up stories where a happy ending is always guaranteed.

Fans of Madeline Hunter, Lisa Kleypas and Sabrina Jeffries will love Diana's Regency world of dashing dukes, irresistible rogues and the headstrong, determined women who capture their hearts. New York Times bestselling author Grace Burrowes says SEDUCING CHARLOTTE is "Sweet, steamy, and thoroughly enjoyable...Equal parts action, passion and fun."

Growing up as a foreign service brat, Diana lived in many countries and is now settled in Virginia with her husband and two sons. When not bent over her laptop or trying to keep up with laundry, she enjoys reading, spending time with her family and dreams of traveling much more than her current schedule (and budget) allows.

website | facebook | twitter | good reads


2 comments:

I love comments!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...